top of page

Rima Peddi: Salutatorian

As Salutatorian of the Class of 2020, Rima Peddi will be honored by speaking at the Graduation Ceremony this year. The Banner took some time to catch up with her and ask her to reflect upon her high school years.


  1. What advice would you give to younger students?

  2. "I would definitely advise younger students to try new and different activities, especially ones that are out of their comfort zone. You never really know what things you may be good at or may surprisingly like. Personally, that’s how I found a lot of my hobbies and passions."


  3. If you could give one piece of advice or knowledge to yourself as a freshman, what would it be?

"If I could give one piece of advice to my freshman self, I’d tell myself it’s okay to be indecisive and confused and not to stress out so much about the little things. Things always work out, even if it’s not in the way you planned."


Who inspired/encouraged/guided you throughout your journey at NBTHS?

"Many, many teachers and friends inspired me and continue to inspire me. Specifically, teachers like Dr. O’Reilly and Mr. Weiss are extremely close to my heart. They have both encouraged me to reach my fullest potential, to push myself, and to have bigger dreams and goals. They always saw great things in me and for that I am thankful. My friends and family have also always supported me and pointed me in the right direction."


What are your goals during and after college?

" While pursuing my major, I hope to intern, work in the field, and hopefully, study abroad. Aside from academics, I am excited to get involved on campus and meet new people. I want to join a collegiate dance team and become more involved in volunteering associations as well. After college, I want to obtain a stable job and pursue a master’s degree. I also hope to reside in a city where I could further my interest in the arts and host dance workshops."


What college are you planning to attend and what will be your major?

"I am attending Georgia Tech in the fall and will be majoring in Mechanical Engineering with a prospective minor in Computer Science."


What inspired you to want this honor (Salutatorian) in your school?

"For my entire high school career, I have pushed myself to be the very best I can. This drive and the encouragement from my friends, family, and teachers inspired me to aim for this honor."


Do you regret NOT doing anything in life so far?

"I have a whole bucket list of things I still want to do, but so far, I do not have many regrets. I would say that I do regret not searching for more opportunities and not taking more time to explore and adventure with friends."


Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

"I am a very indecisive person, so I’m not completely sure. I do definitely see myself living in a city and pursuing something that I am genuinely interested in. I also see myself as extremely independent and extremely involved in my community and the arts. I also tend to put a dog in that picture because I am desperate for a puppy."


What was your favorite memory of your time at NBTHS?

"Looking at the school as a whole, Christmas in the Commons was always my favorite time of year because everyone would let loose, dance, sing, and come together for a day. For a more personal memory, tech week for InnovAsian is one of my favorite memories of high school. Everyone would be together for almost 7 hours a day, people were constantly laughing and everyone was always bubbling with excitement no matter how tired we got."


What struggles did you have getting to where you are in life now?

"I am very lucky to have grown up the way I have. I am thankful to have always had a supportive and encouraging family, which has greatly contributed to my success. I have had to overcome issues dealing with failure, mental health, and personal disappointments, but these parts of my life have helped me become who I am today and get to where I am."


Rima Peddi '20

Salutatorian


258 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page